First Blog- Meeting Carli

Hi, My name is Carli Lyn. I’m a 21 year-old college student at Maryville University. I am currently making big changes in my life and trying to decide what is the best major route for me (yes, as a junior , for the third time). Give me a break, I’m still young with almo
st 4/5ths of my life ahead of me. Trying to figure out what I want to do for the rest of my life is a huge stressor in my life and I want you to join me on this journey.

Now, the journey of changing my major isn’t going to be the focus of my blog, but that’s just a little background for you.

I’m going to focus on my disability, which is HUGE for me, considering I still ignore people who ask me about it.

When I was 5 and half years old I was diagnosed with a debilitating bone disease that intern has me growing a second skeleton. I have Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva¬†or FOP because otherwise, it’s a mouthful. Although this disease is a pain in the kabooty, I don’t let it effect my life any more than it needs too. I hate that the disease is the first thing people see about me- they don’t see the incredible young women I strive to be.

This blog is going be all about challenging your viewpoint and how I crush the stereotype you impose on me.

Published by

I'm a 23 year old grandma. I love online shopping, dogs, naps & the MLB. I'm just here to find my place in this crazy world [of blogging]. Oh yeah, and I have a FOP, a rare disease that is causing me to grow a second skeleton.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s